AMSOIL Sprints
Thursday, 27 May 2021


Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Okla.) Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Okla.) Josh James Artwork


Terre Haute, Indiana (May 27, 2021)………Brady Bacon’s remarkable comeback story at the Hulman Classic was one that will be talked about for a long time to come, and the performance also shot the Broken Arrow, Oklahoma driver into the lead of ProSource’s Terre Haute Passing Master standings.

ProSource has posted a $500 Passing Master award going to the driver who advances the most combined positions throughout Wednesday’s Tony Hulman Classic USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car race and the Thursday, May 27, Sumar Classic USAC Silver Crown event, both of which are held at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.

Bacon’s night began with him earning his 40th career USAC National Sprint Car fast qualifying time, surpassing Levi Jones for fourth-place all-time.  In the first heat race, however, Bacon nearly touched the clouds in a sky-high crash that sent him flipping viciously over the turn one wall aboard his Dynamics, Inc./Fatheadz Eyewear – Elliott’s Custom Trailers & Carts – TelStar/Triple X/Rider Chevy.

Following the incident, Bacon and the team rolled out the backup car that he had run as the primary late in 2020 at Terre Haute and again, most recently, earlier this month at Ohio’s Eldora Speedway.  Subsequently, the three-time series champ raced from the tail (14th) to finish 3rd and transfer to the B-Main.  And, to cap it all off, he made another charge from his 9th starting spot to a 3rd place finish in the feature.

The effort gave Bacon 17 total positions advanced throughout the night heading into Thursday’s USAC Silver Crown season opener in which he will compete aboard the Five Three Motorsports No. 53.

Tanner Thorson (Minden, Nev.) is second in the standing with 14 passes; Wednesday’s Tony Hulman Classic winner, Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.), is third with 9; Robert Ballou (Rocklin, Calif.) is fourth with 8; and Kevin Thomas Jr. (Cullman, Ala.) is fifth with 6.

Thursday’s Sumar Classic at Terre Haute gets underway with the pits opening at 2pm EDT, grandstands at 3pm, hot laps at 6:30pm with racing to follow.  Adult general admission tickets are $30. Infield admission is $20. Pit passes are $35.  Scott’s Custom Colors DIRTcar Modifieds will also be in action.  Tickets will be available at the gate.

If you are unable to make it to the track, Thursday’s Sumar Classic will air LIVE on FloRacing at



(After Night #1 of 2 at Terre Haute)

17-Brady Bacon

14-Tanner Thorson

9-Chris Windom

8-Robert Ballou

6-Kevin Thomas Jr.

5-Kyle Cummins, Jake Swanson & Matt Westfall

4-Justin Grant & Riley Kreisel

3-Nick Bilbee & Mario Clouser

2-C.J. Leary & Tye Mihocko

1-Sterling Cling, Brandon Morin, Davey Ray & Chase Stockon

0-Max Adams, Cole Bodine, Dan Clodfelter, Anthony D'Alessio, Charles Davis Jr., Matt Goodnight, Chase Johnson, Ricky Lewis, Brandon Mattox, Nate McMillin, Paul Nienhiser, Logan Seavey, Joe Stewart, Brian VanMeveren & Mitch Wissmiller