Sunday, 19 April 2009



Cody Gerhardt of Fresno, Calif. leads the USAC California Pavement Ford Focus Series to this Saturday’s race at the Madera (Calif.) Speedway. The USAC Western Midgets share the card at the 1/3-mile paved oval.


Gerhardt led the final nine laps to win Saturday night’s 30-lap USAC California Pavement/Auto Trader Utah Ford Focus feature at Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway in Blythe, Calif. He was trailed at the checkered flag by Zach Stout, Jake Swanson, Jeff Oleen and Connor Kassik. Nick Romano led the first 21 laps before Gerhardt moved to the front. Michael J. Lewis was the night’s fastest qualifier. The Utah Series resumes May 2 at Rocky Mountain Raceways in Salt Lake City.


Jeremy Frankoski’s initial USAC Carolina Ford Focus feature start ended in victory lane Saturday night at Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway. The Huntersville, N.C. driver led the last 28 laps to win the 35-lap 2009 series opener over Michael Sboro, Steven Intravaia, Eric Coomes and Scott Hunter. Driving for Tracy Trotter, Frankoski passed Coomes on lap eight and led the rest of the way for the win in his first-ever USAC start! He was also the night’s fastest qualifier. The Carolina Series is scheduled to resume action May 8, with the venue yet to be determined.


Ronnie Wuerdeman of Cincinnati, Ohio won Friday night's 15-lap USAC Midwest Ford Focus feature event at the Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway. He led the first seven laps in his Bell Helmets/Klotz Lubricants Hawk, then trailed Craig Haack for three laps before regaining the top spot and leading the final five laps. Haack finished second ahead of Jimmy Simpson, Tyler Cottongim and new series point leader Joe Liguori. The next Midwest Ford Focus race is May 8 at the Anderson (Ind.) Speedway.


Andrew Murray of Temecula, CA beat Kyle Edwards in the 10-lap USAC Junior Focus race at Lucas Oil I-10 Speedway Saturday night and trails him by 59 points in the new series standings going into a May 16 race at Hanford, Calif.