Thursday, 3 August 2017



The inaugural season of the Speedway Motors USAC Lightning Sprint National Championship has hit the halfway point. Five groups have registered racers to compete for a national point fund, provided by Hoosier Tire, and the title of 2017 USAC National Champion. The top 10 positions in National Championship points will be paid cash and contingency awards at season's end. The inaugural champion will receive national accolades in addition to a $3,000 award and on-stage recognition at USAC’s Night of Champions during the PRI Show in Indianapolis this December.

Racers from around the country have been competing as part of these four organizations: California Lightning Sprints, Midwest Lightning Sprints, the Midwest Mini Sprint Association, and the Rocky Mountain Lightning Sprint Association. A 10-race season minimum is needed, with a best of 10 race points tabulation of the first twelve events. The points system is weighted by the number of cars competing and allows an individual to win a national title from their home track(s). These events are noted on their 2017 schedules and count toward the National Championship points structure.

Entering August, each organization has completed half or more of the 10 races needed to reach a full count for their racers. As of July 26, the count of races reported are:

MLS: 9 races

MMSA: 7 races

CLS: 6 races

RMLSA: 5 races

The individual win tally includes an impressive list of drivers showing early strength in their quest for a national championship. Rod Henning leads the charge ahead of fellow MMSA driver Andy Bradley. Rod rarely has run out of the top two positions among large fields boosting his points count thus far. Tom Brown has taken advantage of a full summer of racing with MLS, having won five races amid an average car count of seven. The group is growing in strength from five to nine cars. Andy Bradley is also having a season to remember, running close behind Tom in the wins column, with four wins in the MMSA, averaging 20.29 cars per race and a range of 17 to 25 cars. Others posting multiple wins include Bobby Michnowicz with CLS and Troy Ullery with the RMLSA, both with two wins respectively. Each of these organizations garner around 20 cars for each event.

The standings take into account the number of races competed and the amount of cars entered in each event. The best 10 finishes are totaled to give the rank. The current top 20 in the 2017 national points standings, as of July 26, are:



1. MMSA / Rod Henning / 1870

2. MMSA / Andy Bradley / 1720

3. MLS / Tom Brown / 1630

4. MLS / Ryan Secrest & CLS / Jarrett Kramer / 1480

6. CLS / Aiden Lange / 1430

7. MMSA / Justin Lewis / 1420

8. CLS / Cody Nigh / 1300

9. CLS / Bobby Michnowicz / 1170

10. RMLSA / Johnny Boos / 1130

11. RMLSA / Steve Becker / 1000

12. RMLSA / Frank Martinez / 960

13. MMSA / Brandon Smith / 950

14. CLS / Wyatt Downing / 890

15. MLS / Jason Billups, CLS / Jon Robertson / 880

17. CLS / Eric Greco, Jr. & RMLSA / Troy Ullery / 730

19. CLS / Brent Sexton / 580

20. MLS / Kyle Lewis / 530


A full view of the entire points list is available at: http://usacracing.com/standings/lightning-sprints

Hoosier Tire is one of the many sponsors who have pledged support for this new series through a multi-year relationship. Cars are required to use Hoosier tires on all four corners during USAC-sanctioned Lightning Sprint events. Speedway Motors—America’s oldest speed shop—is the title sponsor with a myriad of other sponsoring companies, including AFCO, CSI, PRO Shocks, My Race Pass, Saldana Race Products, Aeromotive, Weld, Rod End Supply, Hoosier Speed, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, and EMi.