Saturday, 15 June 2019


Winner Chett Gehrke Winner Chett Gehrke Bill Miller Photo


Gas City, Indiana (June 14, 2019).........Chett Gehrke (Broken Arrow, Oklahoma) captured the victory in Friday’s USAC Speed2 Midwest Thunder Midget feature at Indiana’s Gas City I-69 Speedway.

Gehrke got by Alex Watson (Columbus, Ohio) on a lap five restart and lead the remaining 16 laps to seal the deal for his first series win of the season.

Series point leader Aaron Leffel (Springfield, Ohio) was second ahead of Watson, Cory Guingrich (Celina, Ohio) and Stratton Briggs (Anna, Ohio).


USAC MIDWEST THUNDER SPEED2 MIDGET SERIES RACE RESULTS: June 15, 2019 – Gas City, Indiana – Gas City I-69 Speedway

FIRST HEAT: (6 laps) 1. Chett Gehrke (#11c Matteson), 2. Stratton Briggs (#71 Briggs), 3. Cory Guingrich (#62 Guingrich), 4. Gunnar Lucius (#22L Lucius), 5. Tommy Bigelow (#2B Bigelow), 6. Jacob Denney (#11T Taylor), 7. Ian Creager (#36 Creager). NT

SECOND HEAT: (6 laps) 1. Alex Watson (#3 Watson), 2. Anton Hernandez (#8JR Wood), 3. Mark Nieft, Jr. (#20N Nieft), 4. Adam Schmenk (#6 Schmenk), 5. Zane Briggs (#10 Briggs), 6. Tyler Kalb (#32T Kalb), 7. Don Bigelow (#4B Bigelow). NT

THIRD HEAT: (6 laps) 1. Jon Steed (#7 Steed), 2. Aaron Leffel (#11L Taylor), 3. Chris Bounds (#65 Bounds), 4. Kyle Kriegbaum (#12 Kriegbaum), 5. Ryan Moran (#01 Moran), 6. Braden Watson (#29 Watson). NT

FEATURE: (20 laps) 1. Chett Gehrke, 2. Aaron Leffel, 3. Alex Watson, 4. Cory Guingrich, 5. Stratton Briggs, 6. Chris Bounds, 7. Gunnar Lucius, 8. Kyle Kriegbaum, 9. Tommy Bigelow, 10. Jacob Denney, 11. Tyler Kalb, 12. Zane Briggs, 13. Ryan Moran, 14. Jon Steed, 15. Mark Neift, Jr., 16. Don Bigelow, 17. Anton Hernandez, 18. Adam Schmenk, 19. Ian Creager, 20. Braden Watson. NT


NEW USAC SPEED2 MIDWEST THUNDER MIDGET POINTS: 1-Aaron Leffel-207, 2-Stratton Briggs-158, 3-Gunnar Lucius-144, 4-Cory Guingrich-142, 5-Ian Creager-135, 6-Kyle Kriegbaum-135, 7-Alex Watson-134, 8-Zane Briggs-115, 9-Chris Bounds-113, 10-Jacob Denney-107.

NEXT USAC MIDGET THUNDER MIDGET RACE: June 22 – Montpelier Motor Speedway – Montpelier, Indiana