You are here:NEWS/General News/MORAN CLEANS UP AT GAS CITY
General News
Sunday, 6 October 2019


Saturday's Gas City Winner Ryan Moran Saturday's Gas City Winner Ryan Moran


Speedway, Indiana (October 5, 2019)………Saturday night’s round at Indiana’s Gas City I-69 Speedway brought forth 26 MMSA/AMSA Lightning Sprint cars with yet another first time Midwest Mini Sprint Association (MMSA) winner emerging in 2019.  This time, it was Ottawa Ohio’s young gun, Ryan Moran to join the list of feature winners.

Moran rolled off 5th in his heat and raced his way to a 2nd place result.  His 2nd place finish earned him a 3rd place starting position in the main event.  Max Brannam and Brandon Deputy led the full field of cars to the green.  Brannam got the jump and led the first few laps before the red flag flew for the rollover of Max Cogley.  He refired and came back with a 13th place finish.

The race restarted with Brannam out in front with Jac Nickels ready to pounce.  When the opportunity came, Jac went to the point.  As luck would have it, Nickels had to retire his entry with steering mechanical issues while leading the main event.

With Nickels out of the event, this opened up the gates for Ryan Moran and Cody Trammell to settle the main event between themselves.  Moran set the pace, but Trammell did not let him out of his sights.  Lap after lap, Trammell hounded Moran, but Moran consistently ran perfect laps en route to his first MMSA victory ahead of Trammell, AMSA regular Chris Miller, Anthony Haas, Keith Langley, Chris Bounds, Brandon Deputy, Howard McCormick and Brandon Coffey with Adam Schmenck rounding out the top-10.

Prelims were won by Brandon Deputy, Austin Powell and Jac Nickels.

The next and final MMSA event of 2019 will take place on Saturday, October 19 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind.