You are here:NEWS/Sprint Car/SouthWest/28 DATES SET FOR 2016 USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINTS
Tuesday, 19 January 2016



A total of 28 races are on tap for the USAC Southwest Sprint Series this year, including nine “special events.”

The season gets underway with this weekend’s “Winter Challenge” openers at Canyon Speedway in Peoria, Ariz. Five nights of racing at Canyon are considered special events and do not carry points, so the championship season actually begins in the “Sin City Showdown” as part of the FVP “Outlaw Showdown” March 4 at The Dirt Track at Las Vegas (Nev.) Motor Speedway. That event also features participants of USAC’s West Coast Sprint Car Series.

Arizona Speedway in Queen Creek hosts the finales – the “Western World Championships” - November 4-5, the sixth and seventh scheduled appearances of the series there this year.

In between, races at Yuma Ariz. (Cocopah Speedway) and Casa Grande, Ariz. (Central Arizona Speedway) are on tap.

The four-race “Freedom Tour” in August returns at Lawton and Sapulpa, Okla. and Wichita and Dodge City, Kans. and the NMMRA co-sanctioned “Border Tour” returns to El Paso, Texas and Las Cruces, New Mexico in September.

R.J. Johnson of Phoenix has swept the last three USAC Southwest Sprint Car championships and has a record 29 career victories. 


2016 USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series

January 22 - Peoria, AZ (SE)/Canyon Speedway

January 23 - Peoria, AZ (SE)/Canyon Speedway

January 24 - Peoria, AZ (SE)/Canyon Speedway

January 29 - Peoria, AZ (SE)/Canyon Speedway

January 30 - Peoria, AZ (SE)/Canyon Speedway

March 4 - Las Vegas, NV/The Dirt Track at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

March 26 - Peoria, AZ/Canyon Speedway

April 9 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

April 23 - Yuma, AZ/Cocopah Speedway

April 30 - Peoria, AZ/Canyon Speedway

May 7 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

May 28 - Peoria, AZ/Canyon Speedway

May 29 - Peoria, AZ/Canyon Speedway

June 11 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

July 2 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

July 30 - Peoria, AZ/Canyon Speedway

August 17 - Lawton, OK (SE)/Lawton Speedway

August 18 - Sapulpa, OK (SE)/Creek County Speedway

August 19 - Wichita, KS (SE)/81 Speedway

August 20 - Dodge City, KS (SE)/Dodge City Raceway Park

September 2 - El Paso, TX/El Paso Speedway Park

September 3 - Las Cruces, NM/Southern New Mexico Speedway

September 17 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

October 15 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

October 22 - Peoria, AZ/Canyon Speedway

October 29 - Casa Grande, AZ/Central Arizona Speedway

November 4 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway

November 5 - Queen Creek, AZ/Arizona Speedway