AMSOIL Sprints
Wednesday, 3 June 2020


#9K Kevin Thomas Jr. & #4 Justin Grant #9K Kevin Thomas Jr. & #4 Justin Grant Al Steinberg Photo


By: Richie Murray – USAC Media

Pevely, Missouri (June 3, 2020)………The 44-car field for this Sunday night’s USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car event at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Missouri is locked-in, stacked, loaded and any other adjective you’d like to throw in.  It all fits.

You can chalk it up by using these same adjectives to describe the weekend’s racing slate as well, with back-to-back nights of USAC Sprint Car racing, beginning Saturday at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa.

Sunday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Tickets:

Saturday 34 Raceway USAC Tickets on sale at

Six previous USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car champions are represented throughout the field, including 2018 titlist Tyler Courtney of Indianapolis, Ind., who’ll make his season debut with the series Sunday night.  In May, he captured his first USAC victory of the year, in a USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget feature at Port City Raceway in Tulsa, Okla.

In fact, all the same six champs were in action the last time the series raced at Pevely in 2018.  Greenfield, Indiana’s C.J. Leary, the 2019 champ, took 6th in that race in his family owned No. 30, which he will drive this weekend for the first time in USAC competition since the 2018 season.

Series point leader Brady Bacon (Broken Arrow, Okla.) is on the hunt for his third championship crown this year following titles in 2014 and 2016.  He’s gotten off to as hot of a start as you possibly can, charging from 9th to victory lane in each of the first two events at Ocala, Fla. in 2020.  He notched 20th at Pevely in 2018, certainly not indicative of how fast he was that night after qualifying 2nd and running up front in the feature.

The 2017 USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car titlist, Chris Windom (Canton, Ill.), was 8th at Pevely that year, while 2015 champ Robert Ballou of Rocklin, Calif. returns to USAC after missing the past year due to a serious arm injury.  Ballou owns the 8-lap I-55 track record for USAC at 1:44.38, set in 2018, and later went on to finish 3rd in the feature.  USAC Triple Crown champion Dave Darland (Lincoln, Ind.), meanwhile, was 7th that night.

Those six are among the 14 entered drivers for Sunday who were in the 2018 field, in addition to Cullman, Alabama’s Kevin Thomas Jr., who was strong all night and very nearly won the 2018 feature at Pevely, winning his heat race and leading a total of 12 laps before finishing second.

Also in the feature lineup at Pevely in 2018 were May 23 Port City USAC NOS Energy Drink National Midget winner Justin Grant (Ione, Calif.), 2016 USAC Sprint Rookie of the Year Isaac Chapple (Willow Branch, Ind.), Mario Clouser (Auburn, Ill.), Jadon Rogers (Worthington, Ind.), Patrick Budde (Bartelso, Ill.) and Mitch Wissmiller (Saybrook, Ill.).

Spectator tickets are now on sale for the June 7 race at Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55, exclusively at  Seating capacity is limited to 1,200 for this event.

The grandstands for the I-55 event will be limited to 1,200 spectators.  Adult general admission tickets are $30 and $10 for children age 12 and under.  Pit passes are $30 for USAC/UMP members and $35 for non-members.  UMP A-Mods will run as the support class.  At I-55, pits open at 1pm Central and grandstands at 3pm with hot laps scheduled to begin at 5pm.

All USAC National events will be streamed live, and available on-demand, on FloRacing.


USAC AMSOIL SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS: 1-Brady Bacon-155, 2-Chris Windom-146, 3-Justin Grant-140, 4-C.J. Leary-138, 5-Logan Seavey-135, 6-Kyle Cummins-130, 7-Chase Stockon-129, 8-Carson Short-118, 9-Dave Darland-96, 10-Kevin Thomas Jr.-95.



FEATURE: (30 laps - starting positions in parentheses) 1. Jason McDougal (2), 2. Kevin Thomas, Jr. (4), 3. Robert Ballou (3), 4. Tyler Courtney (6), 5. Justin Grant (11), 6. C.J. Leary (8), 7. Dave Darland (7), 8. Chris Windom (10), 9. Chase Stockon (1), 10. Korey Weyant (18), 11. Isaac Chapple (9), 12. Mario Clouser (14), 13. Jadon Rogers (13), 14. Chet Williams (17), 15. Scottie Gretzmacher (16), 16. Patrick Budde (21), 17. Adam Parmeley (22), 18. Wade Seiler (19), 19. Chuck Walker (20), 20. Brady Bacon (5), 21. Joe B. Miller (12), 22. Mitch Wissmiller (15). NT



01 ANTHONY D’ALESSIO/Apollo Beach, FL (D’Alessio-Parallax Motorsports)

1x KURT GROSS/Washington, IN (Kurt Gross)

4 JUSTIN GRANT/Ione, CA (TOPP Motorsports)

4x BRAYDON CROMWELL/Lone Jack, MO (Braydon Cromwell)

5 ANTON HERNANDEZ/Arlington, TX (Baldwin Brothers Racing)

5v JESSE VERMILLION/Greencastle, IN (Vermillion Racing)

6 MARIO CLOUSER/Auburn, IL (Clouser Motorsports)

6p CHRIS PHILLIPS/Plainfield, IN (Chris Phillips Racing)

7BC TYLER COURTNEY/Indianapolis, IN (Clauson-Marshall Racing)

9K KEVIN THOMAS JR./Cullman, AL (KT Motorsports)

11w WYATT BURKS/Topeka, KS (Burks Racing)

12 ROBERT BALLOU/Rocklin, CA (Ballou Motorsports)

14 JADON ROGERS/Worthington, IN (Kyle Rogers)

16 ANTHONY NICHOLSON/Millington, TN (Nicholson Racing)

19 CHRIS WINDOM/Canton, IL (Hayward Motorsports)

19AZ LOGAN SEAVEY/Sutter, CA (Reinbold Underwood Motorsports)

20 TYLER KENDALL/Connersville, IN (Kendall Racing)

22 SCOTTY WEIR/Marion, IN (Goodnight Racing)

22s SLATER HELT/Harrisonville, MO (Shawn Helt)

24 LANDON SIMON/Tipp City, OH (Landon Simon Racing)

27 STEVE THOMAS/Ludlow, IL (Steve Thomas)

28 BRANDON MATTOX/Terre Haute, IN (Brandon Mattox Racing)

28K KORY SCHUDY/Springfield, MO (Jon Sawyer)

29 MITCH WISSMILLER/Saybrook, IL (RMB Motorsports)

30 C.J. LEARY/Greenfield, IN (Leary Racing)

32 CHASE STOCKON/Fort Branch, IN (32 TBI Racing)

33m MATT WESTFALL/Pleasant Hill, OH (Ray Marshall Motorsports)

34 STERLING CLING/Tempe, AZ (Sterling Cling Racing)

36D DAVE DARLAND/Lincoln, IN (Eberhardt-Zirzow Racing)

39 MATT GOODNIGHT/Winchester, IN (Goodnight Racing)

52 ISAAC CHAPPLE/Willow Branch, IN (LNR-Isaac Chapple Racing)

53 BRAYDEN FOX/Avon, IN (Fox Brothers Racing)

56 MITCHELL DAVIS/Auburn, IL (Mitchell Davis)

57 ZACH DAUM/Pocahontas, IL (Artz Motorsports)

69 BRADY BACON/Broken Arrow, OK (Dynamics, Inc.)

71 ROBERT BELL/Colfax, IA (Bell Racing)

71p CARSON SHORT/Marion, IL (Daigh-Phillips Motorsports)

73 BLAKE VERMILLION/Greencastle, IN (Vermillion Racing)

75 DUSTIN CLARK/Washington, IN (Dustin Clark Racing)

77 DUSTIN SMITH/Russiaville, IN (Smith Racing)

88 TERRY BABB/Decatur, IL (Terry Babb)

90 PATRICK BUDDE/Bartelso, IL (Budde Racing)

99 KOREY WEYANT/Springfield, IL (Scott Weyant)

118 SCOTT EVANS/Rhome, TX (Scott Evans)