CRA Sprint Car
Sunday, 23 April 2023


Winner Brody Roa (Garden Grove, Calif.) Winner Brody Roa (Garden Grove, Calif.) A.J. Johnson Photo


Hanford, California (April 22, 2023)………It took little time for Brody Roa to flex his muscles during Saturday night’s Spanky Matthews Memorial at Hanford, California’s Kings Speedway.

Roa (Garden Grove, Calif.) charged from his fifth starting position and into the lead during the first five laps of the 30-lap feature to score his third victory of the AMSOIL USAC CRA Sprint Car season in his Tom & Christy Dunkel/BR Performance #17R.

The triumph for Roa was the first of his USAC CRA career in Hanford and helped cushion his point lead to 79 markers after winning three of the first six series events to start the 2023 season.  Roa’s 16th career series win ranks fifth on the all-time USAC CRA Sprint Car win list, four behind 2007 series champion Tony Jones for fourth.

Austin Williams (Yorba Linda, Calif.) came home second behind Roa in the main event while Ryan Timmons (Pleasant Hill, Calif.) took third after leading the initial four laps.

Jake Andreotti (Castro Valley, Calif.), making his series debut, won his heat race, then collected fourth in the feature while Troy Rutherford (Ojai, Calif.) earned hard charger honors in memory of Jim & Chet Gardner after racing his way from 12th to 5th.

Cody Williams (Norco, Calif.) was the night’s Woodland Auto Display Fast Qualifier with a time of 16.126 seconds before finishing 10th in the feature.  He now holds the second spot in the overall series championship standings.




AMSOIL USAC CRA SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: April 22, 2023 – Kings Speedway – Hanford, California – Spanky Matthews Memorial

WOODLAND AUTO DISPLAY QUALIFYING: 1. Cody Williams, 44, Williams-16.126; 2. Austin Williams, 2, Williams-16.170; 3. Brody Roa, 17R, Dunkel/BR-16.255; 4. Logan Calderwood, 6, Calderwood-16.361; 5. Tommy Malcolm, 5x, Napier-16.397; 6. Danny Faria Jr., 12B, Faria-16.631; 7. Grant Sexton, 22, Sexton-16.648; 8. A.J. Bender, 21, Bender-16.664; 9. Ryan Timmons, 29T, Timmons-16.801; 10. Jake Andreotti, 8m, May-16.812; 11. Verne Sweeney, 98, Guerrero-16.845; 12. Troy Rutherford, 73, Ford-16.891.

FLOWDYNAMICS INCORPORATED / IN MEMORY OF JIM & CHET GARDNER FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Brody Roa, 2. Tommy Malcolm, 3. Cody Williams, 4. Ryan Timmons, 5. Grant Sexton, 6. Verne Sweeney. NT

BILLSJERKY.NET / WC FRIEND COMPANY SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Jake Andreotti, 2. Troy Rutherford, 3. A.J. Bender, 4. Danny Faria Jr., 5. Austin Williams, 6. Logan Calderwood. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps, starting positions in parentheses) 1. Brody Roa (5), 2. Austin Williams (7), 3. Ryan Timmons (1), 4. Jake Andreotti (10), 5. Troy Rutherford (12), 6. A.J. Bender (2), 7. Grant Sexton (9), 8. Logan Calderwood (8), 9. Danny Faria Jr. (3), 10. Cody Williams (6), 11. Verne Sweeney (11), 12. Tommy Malcolm (4). NT.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-4 Ryan Timmons, Laps 5-30 Brody Roa.

IN MEMORY OF JIM & CHET GARDNER HARD CHARGER: Troy Rutherford (12th to 5th)

NEW AMSOIL USAC CRA SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Brody Roa-464, 2-Cody Williams-385, 3-Austin Williams-359, 4-Tommy Malcolm-342, 5-R.J. Johnson-324, 6-Charles Davis Jr.-314, 7-Logan Calderwood-268, 8-A.J. Bender-265, 9-Chase Johnson-237, 10-Ricky Lewis-226.

NEXT AMSOIL USAC CRA SPRINT CAR RACE: April 29 – The Dirt Track at Kern County Raceway Park – Bakersfield, California