AMSOIL Sprints
Thursday, 8 October 2015



Lawrenceburg Speedway’s blockbuster weekend October 16-17 is attracting some exciting additions to the program for Saturday’s “Fall Nationals” USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car event on “Breast Cancer Awareness Night” at the track. In addition to a $10,000-to-win event, wrapping up the Midwest portion of the season for the series, announcements came last week to include a $1,100 total bonus for the night’s ProSource “Fast Time Award” and a $100 B&W Auto Mart “Hard Charger Award” in the feature.

With the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars leading off the weekend on Friday, October 16th presented by KOI Auto Parts, another wrinkle has been added. Thanks to the help of sponsors Priority Aviation, Indy Race Parts, and Spike Chassis, the performer over the two nights of racing will receive prizes, and the highest finishing World of Outlaws regular in Saturday’s USAC event will receive a $1,000 bonus.

A $500 gift certificate from Indy Race Parts and a radiator from Spike Products will go to the driver with the driver with the best average finish between both nights. Defending USAC Sprint Car champion Brady Bacon and Kevin Thomas, Jr., who currently sits sixth in series points, have both been active in World of Outlaws competition this season. Bacon finished second in the Hoosier State in May at Tri-State Speedway.

After Friday’s $10,000-to-win event, the World of Outlaws have Saturday night off from their hectic schedule. With permission already granted by their series to compete with USAC and a substantial payout posted, the pressure is now on to see who will try their hand against the USAC regulars. Only Brad Sweet among them has been victorious in a USAC Sprint Car, with wins at Eldora Speedway in Ohio and Terre Haute, Indiana. Sweet led a 2009 USAC Sprint Car event at Lawrenceburg before ultimately finishing third.

Donny Schatz, who won at Lawrenceburg in 2014, has already put a lock on the 2015 World of Outlaws championship as he leads the tour into Friday’s event. Robert Ballou’s USAC AMSOIL Sprint Car National Championship lead is down to 25 points over 2012 “Fall Nationals” winner Chase Stockon and Dave Darland, who is 35 points back. All three are former winners at Lawrenceburg.

Tickets for both nights are already available at or by contacting the track at 812-539-4700. Budweiser UMP Modifieds will be on the card for both nights, with hot laps each night at 6pm.