Sunday, 9 August 2009



Tracks in five states host USAC Ford Focus racing this week as battles for 2009 championships intensify.


Jeremy Frankoski (Carolina), Joe Liguori (Midwest and UMARA), Kipp Posey (Utah) and Nick Romano (California Pavement) lead their respective series into action. The Carolina series competes Wednesday at Concord (NC) Motorsports Park, while the Midwest series is at Gas City (Ind.) I-69 Speedway Friday. The UMARA series is at Grundy County Speedway in Morris, Ill. Saturday, while Utah competitors race Saturday at Rocky Mountain Raceways in Salt Lake City and the California Pavement series is at Madera Speedway Saturday.


Gordy Edwards of Fountain Valley, Calif. led the final 33 laps of Saturday night’s 40-lap California Dirt Ford Focus race at Kings Speedway in Hanford to complete a “sweep” of the night’s USAC races for the Edwards family. His brother Kyle won the accompanying Junior Focus feature! Sean Dodenhoff led the first seven laps and finished fourth to lock up the “California Ford Focus Week” mini-series title. Jet Davison took second and Cody Swanson third, while Andrew Mulhearn rounded out the field in fifth.


Dodenhoff, of Bakersfield, Calif., won Wednesday night’s 20-lap USAC California Dirt Ford Focus race at the Ventura Raceway. He trailed Nick Carlson for two laps, then led the rest of the way to beat series point leader Brody Roa, Carlson, Walt Johnson and Swanson.


Kyle Edwards of Fountain Valley, Calif. won Saturday night’s 30-lap USAC Junior Ford Focus feature at Kings Speedway, but Taylor Ferns emerged as the “California Ford Focus Week” champion after the three-race mini-series. Edwards passed Andrew Murray on lap eight and led the rest of the way to beat Dennis Simunovich, Ferns, Daniel Voyles and Murray. Alex Jacobsen was the fastest qualifier.


Ferns, of Shelby Township, Mich., scored her sixth USAC feature victory of 2009 Wednesday night at Ventura Raceway, leading the final 16 laps of the 20-lap race. She beat Dennis Simunovich, who led the first four laps, series point leader Kyle Edwards, Casey Martinez and Ethan Quinn.


The victory, Taylor's seventh in her USAC career, ties her with Alison MacLeod as the winningest female drivers in USAC history!


The next events in the California Dirt and Junior Focus series respectively are Sept. 5 at Ventura Raceway and Sept. 12 at Kings Speedway.