AMSOIL Sprints
Wednesday, 7 August 2013


Jon Stanbrough and his owner/crew celebrate an "Ultimate Challenge" victory. Jon Stanbrough and his owner/crew celebrate an "Ultimate Challenge" victory. John Lee Photo






Oskaloosa, Iowa…….Jon Stanbrough of Avon, Indiana picked up his second AMSOIL National Sprint Car Feature win of the season in Tuesday night’s “Ultimate Challenge” at Southern Iowa Speedway. His Amati Racing team led by car owner Shane Wade and Daryl Tate capitalized on a front-row starting spot to cruise out front for 20 laps before a red flag, which led to an extended rain delay before the race was called.

Stanbrough was rarely challenged, but two-time and defending race winner Kyle Larson poked his nose under Stanbrough, but couldn’t clear the leader. After a couple cautions over the opening laps, the race hit a long green-flag run before C.J. Leary ended up flipping through turn-one while battling for tenth.

Under the red flag, the rain picked up until officials were forced to end the event ten laps short of the originally scheduled 30-lap distance.

Stanbrough picked up $10,000 for the win in the Marion Underground Construction – Shane Wade Enterprises #66 DRC/Dynotech, while teammates Larson and Brady Bacon rounded out the podium in matching Hoffman Auto Racing – Mean Green #69OT and #69 TripleX/Stanton Mopar entries.

Chase Stockon held on for fourth after starting on the front row in the Superior Tank & Trailer – Crescent Electric Supply #32 DRC/Fisher, while Jerry Coons, Jr. charged forward from 11th to finish fifth in the Indiana Underground – Rotondo Weirich #37RW Maxim/Fisher.

After a heat race flip, Robert Ballou rebounded to pick up “Hard Charger” honors for climbing from 19th to finish sixth.

AMSOIL USAC SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS:  August 6, 2013 – Oskaloosa, Iowa – Southern Iowa Speedway – “Ultimate Challenge”

FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Chase Stockon (32, 32/TBI), 2. C.J. Leary (30, Leary), 3. Jon Stanbrough (66, Wade), 4. Tyler Courtney (23c, Courtney/Anderson), 5. D.J. Brink (7K, Williams), 6. Robert Bell (71, Bell), 7. Robert Ballou (12x, Ballou), 8. Kevin Thomas, Jr. (17RW, Dutcher/RW/TriStar).

SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Tracy Hines (4, Hines), 2. Dave Darland (71P, Phillips), 3. Chris Windom (21x, Pollock), 4. Josh Hodges (74x, Hodges), 5. Justin Grant (21, Pollock), 6. Wes McIntyre (83, McIntyre), 7. Nick Drake (55, Cline).

THIRD HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Kyle Larson (69OT, Dynamics), 2. Brady Bacon (69, Dynamics), 3. Jerry Coons, Jr. (37RW, Riggs/Dutcher/RW/TriStar), 4. Bryan Clauson (20, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian), 5. Mitch Wissmiller (1, Wissmiller), 6. Hunter Schuerenberg (12, Rogers), 7. Brandon Stevenson (0, Stevenson).

FEATURE: (20 laps) 1. Jon Stanbrough, 2. Kyle Larson, 3. Brady Bacon, 4. Chase Stockon, 5. Jerry Coons, Jr., 6. Robert Ballou, 7. Tracy Hines, 8. Justin Grant, 9. Mitch Wissmiller, 10. Tyler Courtney, 11. Josh Hodges, 12. Nick Drake, 13. Robert Bell, 14. Dave Darland, 15. Kevin Thomas, Jr., 16. C.J. Leary, 17. Brandon Stevenson, 18. D.J. Brink, 19. Chris Windom, 20. Bryan Clauson, 21. Wes McIntyre.
**Thomas flipped in Heat 1. Ballou flipped in Heat 1. Schuerenberg flipped in Heat 3. Leary flipped on lap 20 of the Feature.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-20 Stanbrough.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Darland-1,125; 2-Clauson-1,120; 3-Bacon-1,105; 4-Thomas-1,084; 5-Stockon-1,049; 6-Schuerenberg-947; 7-Ballou-922; 8-Hines-919; 9-Windom-739; 10-Shane Cottle-707.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: August 22 – Kokomo, Indiana – Kokomo Speedway – “Sprint Car Smackdown II”