You are here:NEWS/Sprint Car/AMSOIL Sprints/KOKOMO SPRINT “SMACKDOWN” AUGUST 22-24
AMSOIL Sprints
Monday, 12 August 2013





The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car series is preparing for the second annual “Sprint Car Smackdown” at the Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway and the event promises to be pivotal in the battle for the 2013 championship.

Dave Darland of Lincoln, Ind. returned to the point lead after Tuesday night’s “Casey’s General Stores Ultimate Challenge” at Oskaloosa, Iowa where he finished 14th. He emerged from that race with a five-point cushion as his closest pursuers, Bryan Clauson and Brady Bacon, finished 20th and third respectively.

The Oskaloosa race was halted by rain after 20 of the 30 scheduled laps and Jon Stanbrough of Avon, Ind. was declared the winner in his Marion Underground Construction/DND Oil Company DRC/Dynotech. He led all of the 20 laps to beat Kyle Larson, Bacon, Chase Stockon and Jerry Coons Jr.

Clauson won last year’s inaugural “Sprint Car Smackdown” as well as the opening-night prelim. Chris Windom also won a prelim in the three-night spectacular at the one-third mile dirt oval.

Kevin Thomas Jr., who was 15th at Oskaloosa after an earlier heat-race flip, is only 41 points behind Darland in the standings, with Stockon just 76 back. More than 200 championship points will be available during the Kokomo events.