AMSOIL Sprints
Wednesday, 1 November 2017


Robert Ballou Robert Ballou Carey Akin Photo


By: Scott Daloisio

Perris, California………Robert Ballou, the 2014 winner, was among the latest entries received for next week’s 22nd Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals Presented by All Coast Construction at Perris Auto Speedway. Ballou will be back after missing the 2016 Oval Nationals due to an injury suffered at the Calistoga Speedway on Labor Day Weekend. The race on the Riverside County half-mile clay oval will take place on November 9th, 10th and 11th.

Ballou, a Rocklin, California native, missed the first part of the 2017 season due to the Calistoga injuries. He heads into this week’s races in Arizona ninth in USAC National Sprint Car Series points with two main event wins on the season.

Phoenix, Arizona’s R.J. Johnson, who won three USAC/CRA races in a row at The PAS from June through August, has also submitted his entry for the most prestigious event in non-wing sprint car racing. In addition to his prowess in the USAC/CRA Series in the middle of the season, Johnson has scored seven wins in the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series and should sew up his fifth straight title this weekend in Arizona.

The other entry to come in this week is from Trent Williams of Victorville, California the 2014 PAS Young Guns Sprint Car champion.

There has been one driver change. Danny Faria Jr. of Tipton, California, who was originally entered in his own #17v, will now replace Tyler Thomas in the Michael Dutcher Motorsports #17GP.

At press time, a strong field of 46 sprint cars have entered the prestigious race. The field includes drivers from six different states and New Zealand.



2 AUSTIN WILLIAMS/Yorba Linda, CA (John Jory)

4 DAMION GARDNER/ Concord, CA (Mark Alexander)

4D TBA (Gansen Engineering)

4G CHRIS GANSEN/Verdemont Heights, CA (Gansen Engineering)

4s MIKE SPENCER/Temecula, CA (Gansen Engineering)

5 CHRIS WINDOM/Canton, IL (Baldwin Brothers)

5m MAX ADAMS/Loomis, CA (Max Adams)

5w LOGAN WILLIAMS/Yorba Linda, CA (John Jory)

5x TOMMY MALCOLM/Corona, CA (Dino Napier)

7K STERLING CLING/Tempe, AZ (Kruseman Enterprises)

8 TBA (Jim Richardson)

9K KEVIN THOMAS, JR./Cullman, AL (Kevin Thomas Jr.)

10 RICHARD VANDER WEERD/Visalia, CA (Vander Weerd Racing)

11 JUSTIN GRANT/Ione, CA (Sam McGhee)

12 ROBERT BALLOU/Rocklin, CA (Ballou Motorsports)

17GP DANNY FARIA, JR./Tipton, CA (Michael Dutcher Motorsports)

19 THOMAS MESERAULL/San Jose, CA (Andy Reinbold)

19s HUNTER SCHUERENBERG/Sikeston, MO (Andy Reinbold)

21 A.J. BENDER/Ramona, CA (Rich Bender)

21K LANDON CLING/Tempe, AZ (Kruseman Enterprises)

23c TYLER COURTNEY/Noblesville, IN (TOPP Motorsports)

28m MATT MCCARTHY/Moreno Valley, CA (John McCarthy)

30 C.J. LEARY/Greenfield, IN (Chuck and Tammi Leary)

32 CHASE STOCKON/Fort Branch, IN (Chase Stockon)

39 KYLE EDWARDS/Fountain Valley, CA (Gordon Edwards)

42 STEVIE SUSSEX/Tempe, AZ (Dwight Cheney)

44 CODY WILLIAMS/Corona, CA (John Jory)

51 R.J. JOHNSON/Phoenix, AZ (Bobby Martin)

51T EDDIE TAFOYA/Chino Hills, CA (Eddie Tafoya)

52 ISAAC CHAPPLE/New Castle, IN (Isaac Chapple Racing)

52v TRENT WILLIAMS/Victorville, CA (Ron Williams)

56 RYAN BERNAL/Hollister, CA (Mike Phulps)

63 BRADY BACON/Broken Arrow, OK (Dooling/Hayward Motorsports)

69 CHAD BOESPFLUG/Hanford, CA (Dynamics, Inc.)

73 DAVE DARLAND/Lincoln, IN (Keith Ford)

73T CARSON MACEDO/Lemoore, CA (Carrie Terry)

74x JOSH HODGES/Tijeras, NM (Hodges Motorsports)

81 MICHAEL PICKENS/Auckland, NZ (Steve Watt Enterprises)

83 AUSTIN LIGGETT/Tracy, CA (Tim Liggett)

88 JACE VANDER WEERD/Visalia, CA (Vander Weerd Racing)

90 RANDY WAITMAN/Ramona, CA (Randy Waitman)

91 BRODY ROA/Garden Grove, CA (BR Performance)

92 JAKE SWANSON/Anaheim, CA (Tom & Laurie Sertich)

92m TBA (Tom & Laurie Sertich)

98 JEREMY ELLERTSON/Lawndale, CA (Jeremy Ellertson)

98v VERNE SWEENEY/Lomita, CA (Ken Tracy)


The Oval Nationals, which pays $25,000 to win on the final night, includes three nights of full points paying races for the USAC/CRA and USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series.  Each night will include qualifying, heat races and main events.  Advance tickets are available at the following link: or by calling 1-800-595-4849.

In addition to the USAC portion of the show, Saturday’s program also includes a special invitational debut of the Yamaha R1 DT race car.



1996 Jimmy Sills

1997 Rip Williams

1998 Rodney Argo

1999 Rickie Gaunt

2000 Tony Jones

2001 Bud Kaeding

2002 Bud Kaeding

2003 Cory Kruseman

2004 Cory Kruseman

2005 Dave Darland

2006 Dave Darland

2007 Bud Kaeding

2008 Jesse Hockett

2009 Damion Gardner

2010 Chris Windom

2011 Damion Gardner

2012 Mike Spencer

2013 Dave Darland

2014 Robert Ballou

2015 Bryan Clauson

2016 Damion Gardner


Perris Auto Speedway wants to thank its corporate partners for the 2017 season.* All Coast Construction, Amsoil, Ayers Hotel and Spa, Brass and Bass Firearms & Fishing Supplies, Budweiser, Bud’s Tire Pro, Center Point Church, Champion Towing, City of Perris, Country Values Magazine, Daytona Boat & RV Storage, Ed Moore Bullet Proof Driveshaft, Edelbrock, Flowdynamics, Full Throttle Scissor Lift Rental, Green Sheet, Harley’s Custom Cycles, HD Industries, Hoosier Tires, Indiana Truck Salvage, K&N Engineering, Living Water’s Hospice, Luke’s Transmission, Moreno Valley Magazine of Values, Paul Oil Company, Pepsi-Cola, Pick-A-Part Auto Salvage, Pole Position, Precision Engine of Murrieta,, Scott Sales, Shaver Specialties, Square H, Sunstate Equipment, Swedish Speed, Original Tommy’s Burgers, Trench Shoring, Valley News, Vista Paint and Weedmaps.


To keep up with all the latest Perris Auto Speedway news, photos, gossip and receive special offers, please use the following links:


Twitter: Perris Auto Speedway on Twitter




Video and DVD productions of open wheel racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Loudpedal Productions. For more information on these productions you can contact them by calling (805) 844-3854, E-mailing mailto: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or you can visit the website Loudpedal Productions

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one-hour east of Los Angeles and one-hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. is the only authorized Internet address to issue official media news released from The Perris Auto Speedway or Oval Entertainment.