You are here:NEWS/Sprint Car/AMSOIL Sprints

AMSOIL Sprints



Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla. again serves as the venue for USAC’s 2014 season openers. The AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Cars will tackle the 3/8-mile dirt track in “Winter Dirt Games” on February 20, 21 and 22.

“Florida race fans are excited that the USAC stars are coming back,” says Ocala track owner Bubba Clem. “USAC has produced some of the most exciting racing in Florida history and we are all ready for three more nights of thrilling competition.”

Bryan Clauson opened his 2013 title defense with a victory at Ocala, one of seven he would post on his way to his second consecutive championship. A third straight title would put him in exclusive company. Nobody has won four in a row, but drivers Steve Butler, Robbie Stanley and Levi Jones each won three straight.

Tracy Hines, the fifth most prolific USAC National race winner ever, swept two features at Ocala last year. His all-time National total is now 86, which includes 45 in the Sprint cars.

Dave Darland, the 2013 AMSOIL runner-up and second to Clauson in the 2013 opener, won seven times this season and trails all-time USAC Sprint winner Tom Bigelow by just five victories. He ranks second ahead of Jack Hewitt and Hines.

Damion Gardner, USAC’s 2013 AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Champion, won two of three races at Bubba Raceway Park in 2011 and one in 2012. Clauson also scored a 2011 victory and Darren Hagen grabbed one in 2012.

USAC 2013 “Rookie” Tyler Courtney also figures to be among top threats at Ocala after he grabbed a second-place finish in last year’s Ocala finale.