Silver Crown
Saturday, 29 May 2021



Brownsburg, Indiana (May 28, 2021)………Friday night’s Carb Night Classic was hit by rain following qualifying, postponing USAC’s Silver Crown opener and Midget Special Event to Saturday morning, May 29, at Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg, Ind.

Kody Swanson (Midget) and Tanner Swanson (Silver Crown) set the fastest times in their respective qualifying sessions before the precipitation fell.

Tanner’s quick time came with a price, though.  During the combined practice/qualifying session, Tanner hit the turn one outside wall, causing heavy damage to the Bowman Racing ride.

The incident for Tanner was one of three during the abbreviated evening.  Kyle Hamilton also collided with the turn three wall during Silver Crown practice/qualifying, causing major damage to the right side of the car.

In midget practice/qualifying, Ryan Shilkuski tagged the turn four wall, flipping him onto his roll cage and sending him sliding on his cage down the front straightaway.

All three drivers involved in the incidents were uninjured.

Wristbands from Friday night’s program can be used for re-entry on Saturday at Lucas Oil Raceway.  Adult tickets (age 13 and older) are $25 at  Pit passes are $35 apiece.  Tickets will also be available at the gate.

On Saturday, the gates open at 9am EDT.  The Carb Night Classic will resume, beginning with Silver Crown hot laps at 9:30am EDT followed by the 100-lap Silver Crown feature at 10am.  Following the Silver Crown feature will be the programs for USF2000, Indy Pro and the Midgets, which will conclude the day’s racing festivities with a 30-lap main event.

Saturday’s USAC action will be live on FloRacing at


USAC SILVER CROWN NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS: May 28, 2021 – Lucas Oil Raceway – Brownsburg, Indiana – .686-Mile Paved Oval – Carb Night Classic

FATHEADZ QUALIFYING: 1. Tanner Swanson, 02, Bowman-20.714; 2. Kody Swanson, 77, Doran-20.821; 3. Bobby Santos, 22, DJ-20.831; 4. David Byrne, 40, Byrne-21.111; 5. Justin Grant, 91, Hemelgarn-21.115; 6. Jim Anderson, 92, Kazmark-21.149; 7. Shane Cottle, 81, BCR-21.189; 8. Kyle Hamilton, 6, Klatt-21.226; 9. Nathan Byrd, 11, Hamilton/Byrd-21.292; 10. Taylor Ferns, 55, Ferns-21.295; 11. Travis Welpott, 18, Welpott-21.309; 12. Kyle Robbins, 7, KR-21.354; 13. Eric Gordon, 99, Armstrong-21.397; 14. Derek Bischak, 131, Bischak-21.455; 15. Logan Seavey, 222, Rice-21.496; 16. Austin Nemire, 16, Nemire/Lesko-21.586; 17. Kyle O'Gara, 1, SFHR-21.598; 18. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-21.667; 19. Bryan Gossel, 06, Gossel-21.736; 20. Patrick Lawson, 2, Lawson-21.796; 21. Annie Breidinger, 80, Breidinger-21.827; 22. Brian Gerster, 94, Myers-22.131; 23. Mike Haggenbottom, 24, Haggenbottom-22.251; 24. Brent Yarnal, 29, Yarnal-24.806; 25. Jake Day, 42, Day-25.884; 26. Dave Berkheimer, 31, Berkheimer-NT.


USAC MIDGET SPECIAL EVENT RACE RESULTS: May 28, 2021 – Lucas Oil Raceway – Brownsburg, Indiana – .686-Mile Paved Oval – Carb Night Classic

QUALIFYING: 1. Kody Swanson, 25, Rodela-21.023; 2. Justin Grant, 3, Bohanon-21.217; 3. Thomas Meseraull, 7x, RMS-21.234; 4. Bobby Santos, 29, Seymour/West-21.248; 5. Kyle Hamilton, 4, Klatt-21.358; 6. Dalton Armstrong, 7A, C & A-21.564; 7. Jake Trainor, 8, Trainor-21.596; 8. Todd Bertrand, 47, Bertrand-21.638; 9. Tanner Swanson, 7K, Irwin/Petry-21.647; 10. Josh Wise, 55, Bowman-21.649; 11. Nick Hamilton, 7KR, Irwin/Petry-21.653; 12. Kyle O'Gara, 1BR, SFHR-21.807; 13. Trey Burke, 63, Dooling-21.939; 14. Annie Breidinger, 80, Breidinger-21.954; 15. Mario Clouser, 99, Guess-22.016; 16. Johnny Zych, 9, Zych-22.210; 17. Jesse Love, 5, Van Dyne-22.318; 18. Cole Carter, 7, Bertrand-22.383; 19. Cody Gerhardt, 60, Western Speed-22.398; 20. Blake Brannon, 40, Western Speed-22.448; 21. Nathan Byrd, 33, RayPro-22.802; 22. John Sluss, 14AJ, RayPro-23.043; 23. Kevin Studley, 57K, Studley-23.248; 24. Taylor Ferns, 55F, Ferns-23.646; 25. Ryan Shilkuski, 75, Shilkuski-24.632; 26. Brandon Maurer, 14, Maurer-25.728.