Silver Crown
Saturday, 24 September 2011




Rossburg, OH……..Kyle Larson joined Jack Hewitt in the “4-Crown Nationals” record book Saturday night at Tony Stewart’s Eldora Speedway. Kyle's victory in the 50-lap Traxxas Silver Crown race completed a “clean sweep” of the USAC races at the half-mile oval as he earlier won the 25-lap Midget and 30-lap Sprint races. He thus becomes only the second driver in the 31-year history of the event to complete a USAC “sweep,” matching Jack Hewitt’s feat of 1998 when he won four main events! The performance earned the 19-year-old driver a $10,000 cash bonus from track owner Tony Stewart, in addition to the $18,000 he raked in for his three feature wins! “I wish I had a modified ride so I could have matched Hewitt’s feat,” said the humble Larson in victory lane. Starting on the pole, Larson slipped behind series point leader Levi Jones for four laps but he led the last 46 in his IWX Motor Freight/Hoosier Tire Eagle/Speedway Chevy. Jones finished second ahead of Bryan Clauson, Jerry Coons Jr. and Tracy Hines. It was a magical night and one race fans in attendance will not soon forget. Perfection is a word used seldom in open-wheel racing, but Larson exemplified the word Saturday.


TRAXXAS USAC SILVER CROWN CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES RACE RESULTS: September 24, 2011 – Rossburg, Ohio – Eldora Speedway – 31st “4-Crown Nationals”


QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Kyle Larson, 71, Kunz-16.509; 2. Levi Jones, 10, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-16.531; 3. Dave Darland, 37, Indiana Underground-16.679; 4. Bryan Clauson, 22, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-16.771; 5. Bud Kaeding, 29, BK-16.800; 6. Jerry Coons Jr., 27, RW-16.871; 7. Shane Hollingsworth, 20, Nolen-16.924; 8. Hunter Schuerenberg, 63, DePalma-16.955; 9. Brian Tyler, 21, Team 6R-17.012; 10. Tracy Hines, 16, Lightfoot-17.084; 11. Derek Hagar, 91, Hagar-17.109; 12. Russ Gamester, 51, Gamester-17.361; 13. Robert Ballou, 56, Foxco-17.406; 14. Kody Swanson, 19, Team Six-R-17.465; 15. Todd Kane, 78, Kane-17.502; 16. Bobby East, 6, Klatt-17.603; 17. Mike Hess, 39, Aquilini-18.070; 18. Kellen Conover, 76, Conover-19.497; 19. Craig Dori, 38, Shoestring-19.531; 20. Jon Stanbrough, 17, RW-NT; 21. Shane Cockrum, 114, Hardy-NT; 22. Tanner Swanson, 23, Team 6R/TK-NT; 23. Randy Bateman, 55, Bateman-NT; 24. Zach Daum, 50, Daum-NT.


FEATURE: (50 laps) 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Levi Jones, 3. Bryan Clauson, 4. Jerry Coons Jr., 5. Tracy Hines, 6. Robert Ballou, 7. Tanner Swanson, 8. Bobby East, 9. Todd Kane, 10. Hunter Schuerenberg, 11. Kody Swanson, 12. Mike Hess, 13. Kellen Conover, 14. Derek Hagar, 15. Shane Cockrum, 16. Shane Hollingsworth, 17. Dave Darland, 18. Bud Kaeding, 19. Brian Tyler, 20. Jon Stanbrough, 21. Randy Bateman, 22. Russ Gamester, 23. Craig Dori. NT



FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-4 Jones, Laps 5-50 Larson.


NEW SILVER CROWN SERIES STANDINGS: 1-Jones-366; 2-Coons-354; 3-Larson-320; 4-Hines-305; 5-T.Swanson-284; 6-Tyler-271; 7-Kaeding-269; 8-East-258; 9-Clauson-212; 10-Hagar-185.


NEXT SILVER CROWN SERIES RACE: October 15 – Toledo (OH) Speedway – “Rollie Beale 150”