Silver Crown
Friday, 21 August 2009



Cole Whitt of Alpine, Calif. led all 100 laps of Saturday’s “Tony Bettenhausen 100” at the Illinois State Fairgrounds in Springfield. The win was not only his first in the K & N Silver Crown series but came in only his third Silver Crown start! It was also the first Silver Crown win for chief mechanic and Springfield native Keith Kunz.

Whitt started on the pole after the fastest six qualifiers were inverted and grabbed the lead quickly in his Ferguson-Moen/Red Bull Eagle/Brannan Chevy. He withstood a late-race challenge from Jon Stanbrough, who was also seeking his first series victory. Levi Jones took third ahead of fast qualifier A.J. Fike and Josh Wise.

K & N Silver Crown series point leader Bud Kaeding came from 22nd starting position to finish seventh and retain the lead by 59 points over A.J. Fike going into the September 6 “Ted Horn 100” at the DuQuoin (Ill.) State Fair.

Three yellow flags slowed the race, one for a spin by Matt Westfall, one when Jerry Coons Jr. hit the wall and Kody Swanson spun and the final one when Donnie Beechler’s engine expired and oiled the track.

Beechler, an Indy-Car veteran and local favorite, started 15th and had worked his way to fifth during the early race laps.

USAC K & N SILVER CROWN CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES RACE RESULTS: August 22, 2009 – Springfield, Illinois – Illinois State Fairgrounds – “Tony Bettenhausen 100”


QUALIFICATIONS: 1. A.J. Fike, 32, RFMS-29.618; 2. Jon Stanbrough, 37, Indiana Underground-29.679; 3. Dave Darland, 56. Foxco-29.710; 4. Levi Jones, 10, Stewart-29.753; 5. Tracy Hines, 22, Stewart-29.823; 6. Cole Whitt, 71, CW-29.917; 7. Jerry Coons Jr., 27, RW-29.956; 8. Shane Hollingsworth, 20, Nolen-30.000; 9. Josh Wise, 199, Edwards/Curb/Agajanian-30.020; 10. Brian Tyler, 21, Team Six-R-30.065; 11. Derek Hagar, 6, Klatt-30.076; 12. Shane Hmiel, 17, RW-30.144; 13. Tom Capie, 153, Capie-30.149; 14. Tony Elliott, 43, Nix-30.212; 15. Donnie Beechler, 14, McQuinn-30.256; 16. Zach Daum, 50, Daum-30.536; 17. Terry Babb, 34, Morford-30.560; 18. Kody Swanson, 19, Team Six-R-30.605; 19. Matt Westfall, 7, SC-30.860; 20. Eric Todd, 16, Lightfoot-30.964; 21. Justin Carver, 991, Edwards/RE-30.977; 22. Bud Kaeding, 29, BK-31.311; 23. Patrick Bruns, 81, Quick Draw-31.571; 24. Rex Norris III, 08, Armstrong-32.626; 25. John Barrick, 33, Barrick-34.087; 26. Russ Gamester, 51, Gamester-1:31.578.27. Randy Bateman, 55, Bateman-NT.


FEATURE: (100 laps) 1. Cole Whitt, 2. Jon Stanbrough, 3. Levi Jones, 4. A.J. Fike, 5. Josh Wise, 6. Dave Darland, 7. Bud Kaeding, 8. Tracy Hines, 9. Derek Hagar, 10. Shane Hollingsworth, 11. Tony Elliott, 12. Zach Daum, 13. Tom Capie, 14. Eric Todd, 15. Patrick Bruns, 16. Justin Carver, 17. Rex Norris III, 18. Terry Babb, 19. Donnie Beechler, 20. Kody Swanson, 21. Jerry Coons Jr., 22. Brian Tyler, 23. Matt Westfall, 24. Shane Hmiel, 25. John Barrick, 26. Russ Gamester. NT



FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-100 Whitt.


NEW K & N SILVER CROWN POINTS: 1-Kaeding-324; 2-Fike-265; 3-Hines-261; 4-Jones-247; 5-Wise-230; 6-Tyler-224; 7-Swanson-219; 8-Daum-188; 9-Bobby East-186; 10-Hmiel-184.


NEXT USAC K & N SILVER CROWN RACE: September 6 – DuQuoin (IL) State Fairgrounds – “Ted Horn 100”