CRA Sprint Car
Thursday, 30 June 2022


Top 3 at Perris Auto Speedway Top 3 at Perris Auto Speedway Photo by A.J. Johnson


By Lance Jennings

PERRIS, CALIFORNIA – JUNE 28, 2022… Taking advantage of a late restart, “The Pride of Garden Grove” Brody Roa (Garden Grove, California) powered by Matt Mitchell and earned his first victory of the year last Saturday at Perris Auto Speedway. Starting on the pole position, Roa led the opening lap and had fallen back to fourth by the halfway point of the “Bubby Jones and Ray Scheetz Memorial.” Faced with changing track conditions, the second generation driver made his way forward and topped the $2,500 AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car main event. Mitchell, Tommy “Thunder” Malcolm, Eddie Tafoya Jr., and Logan Williams chased Roa to the checkered flags.

Racing a brand new BR Performance #91R HD Industries / Burris Racing Eagle, Brody Roa began his night by qualifying seventh overall. The former USAC West Coast and SouthWest Sprint Car Champion finished third in his heat race before claiming the eleventh USAC/CRA triumph of his career.

“The Demon” Damion Gardner (Concord, California) posted his fourth Woodland Auto Display Fast Time Award of the campaign. With 103 career fast time awards, the pilot of Mark Alexander’s #1 / Carman Trucking Spike ran a time of 16.895 seconds over the 20-car roster and ran second to Matt Mitchell in his heat race. Starting sixth, Gardner bounced back from a tangle to finish tenth in the 30-lap feature. The nine-time champion leads the point chase heading to the July 8th event at Hanford’s Keller Auto Speedway.

Matt Mitchell (Yorba Linda, California) won the night’s 10-lap Flowdynamics Incorporated / Laserworx Manufacturing / Factory Wraps First Heat Race. Driving his #37 Roy Miller Freight Lines / Campbell Brothers Storage Maxim, Mitchell was fourth quick in time trials and had a hard fought battle with Tommy “Thunder” Malcolm in the feature before scoring second in the “Bubby Jones and Ray Scheetz Memorial.”

Max Adams (Loomis, California) returned from the Midwest and won the 10-lap / Laserworx Manufacturing / Factory Wraps Second Heat Race. Piloting Keith Ford’s #73 Walker Performance Filtration / Naturipe Triple X, Adams qualified fifth overall and scored fifteenth in the main event.

A.J. Bender (San Diego, California) won the 10-lap In Memory of Jim and Chet Gardner Third Heat Race. Racing the family owned #21 Bender Pool & Spa / K&R Motorsports DRC, Bender was fifteenth fast in time trials and finished sixteenth at Perris Auto Speedway after a tangle ended his night. 

Nate Schank (Santa Rosa, California) earned the night’s In Memory of Jim and Chet Gardner Hard Charger Award / Best Passing Job honors with a ninth place run from eighteenth. Driving the family owned #1$ Joe Hunt Magnetos / Industrial Machine entry, the leading rookie contender qualified eighteenth overall and placed sixth in his heat race.

Making his first start of the year, “The Pineapple” Daylin Perreira (Hilo, Hawaii) earned the Wilwood Disc Brakes Lucky 13 Award at Perris Auto Speedway. Piloting his #21P Southwest Building Solutions / Mike Martin Racing Spike, Perreira was nineteenth quick in time trials and placed sixth in his heat race.

Tommy “Thunder” Malcolm (Corona, California) took home the Shawn McDonald Memorial Qualifying Award by qualifying sixth at Perris Auto Speedway. Racing Dino Napier’s #5X Indiana Truck Salvage / B&B Powder Coating DRC, Malcolm was third in his heat race. The young driver found the bottom line to his liking and led the main event twice before settling for third at the “Bubby Jones and Ray Scheetz Memorial.”

Kyle Edwards (Fountain Valley, California) earned the night’s Shawn McDonald Memorial Feature Award by finishing sixth. Racing the family owned #39E Safehouse Security / Van Dyne Engineering Triple X, Edwards was fourteenth fast in time trials and placed second to Max Adams in his heat race.

On Friday, July 8th, the AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Cars will travel to Keller Auto Speedway (Hanford, California) for the “Spanky Mathews Memorial” at the Kings County Fairgrounds. For more event information, visit The following night, the wingless 410 sprints will clash at Thunderbowl Raceway (Tulare, California), which is located at the Tulare County Fairgrounds. For more Tulare information, visit 

The AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series thanks, Factory Wraps, Flowdynamics Incorporated, The Gardner Family (In Memory of Jim & Chet Gardner), Hoosier Racing Tires, Laserworx Manufacturing, Woodland Auto Display, BR Motorsports, Competition Suspension Incorporated, Extreme Mufflers, FloRacing, In Memory of Shawn McDonald, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Vahlco Wheels, and Wilwood Disc Brakes for their support. 

For more information on the AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series, visit and the social media for USAC Racing. You can also find exclusive content on the USAC/CRA Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram pages. has live, flag-to-flag coverage of the AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series. You can catch the action by subscribing to FloRacing on a monthly or yearly basis to view their huge catalog of live and on-demand auto racing and sporting events.

AMSOIL USAC/CRA SPRINT CAR SERIES RACE RESULTS: June 25, 2022 – Perris Auto Speedway– Perris, California – “Bubby Jones and Ray Scheetz Memorial”

WOODLAND AUTO DISPLAY QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Damion Gardner, 1, Alexander-16.895; 2. Logan Williams, 5W, McCarthy-16.941; 3. Eddie Tafoya Jr., 51T, Tafoya-16.954; 4. Matt Mitchell, 37, Mitchell-17.053; 5. Max Adams, 73, Ford-17.106; 6. Tommy Malcolm, 5X, Napier-17.137; 7. Brody Roa, 91R, BR-17.188; 8. Chris Bonneau, 15, Bonneau-17.265; 9. Austin Grabowski, 72, Grabowski-17.292; 10. Austin Williams, 2, Williams-17.309; 11. Matt McCarthy, 28M, McCarthy-17.351; 12. Cody Williams, 44, Williams-17.360; 13. Jake Hodges, 4, Hodges-17.368; 14. Kyle Edwards, 39E, Edwards-17.395; 15. A.J. Bender, 21, Bender-17.455; 16. Verne Sweeney, 98, Tracy-17.475; 17. Chris Tramel, 77, Tramel-18.279; 18. Nate Schank, 1$, Schank-18.573; 19. Daylin Perreira, 21P, Perreira-18.627; 20. Dan Taylor, T5, Taylor-18.834.

FLOWDYNAMICS INCORPORATED / LASERWORX MANUFACTURING / FACTORY WRAPS FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Mitchell, 2. Gardner, 3. Roa, 4. A.Williams, 5. Sweeney, 6. Perreira, 7. Hodges. 2:55.00.


BILLSJERKY.NET / LASERWORX MANUFACTURING / FACTORY WRAPS SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Adams, 2. Edwards, 3. McCarthy, 4. Bonneau, 5. L.Williams, 6. Tramel, 7. Taylor. 2:59.53.

IN MEMORY OF JIM & CHET GARDNER THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Bender, 2. Tafoya, 3. Malcolm, 4. C.Williams, 5. Grabowski, 6. Schank. 2:57.01.

FEATURE: (30 laps, With Starting Positions) 1. Brody Roa (1), 2. Matt Mitchell (4), 3. Tommy Malcolm (2), 4. Eddie Tafoya Jr. (5), 5. Logan Williams (7), 6. Kyle Edwards (14), 7. Austin Williams (10), 8. Matt McCarthy (11), 9. Nate Schank (18), 10. Damion Gardner (6), 11. Chris Tramel (17), 12. Jake Hodges (13), 13. Daylin Perreira (19), 14. Verne Sweeney (16), 15. Max Adams (3), 16. A.J. Bender (15), 17. Chris Bonneau (8), 18. Dan Taylor (20), 19. Cody Williams (12), 20. Austin Grabowski (9). NT.


FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Lap 1 Roa, Laps 2-16 Malcolm, Laps 17-18 Mitchell, Laps 19-25 Malcolm, Laps 26-28 Mitchell, Laps 29-30 Roa. 





NEW AMSOIL USAC/CRA SPRINT CAR POINTS: 1-Damion Gardner-828, 2-Matt Mitchell-735, 3-Austin Williams-706, 4-Eddie Tafoya Jr.-667, 5-Logan Williams-641, 6-Cody Williams-554, 7-Tommy Malcolm-532, 8-Charles Davis Jr.-497, 9-Brody Roa-484, 10-Matt McCarthy-468.

NEXT AMSOIL USAC/CRA SPRINT CAR RACE:  July 8 – Keller Auto Speedway – Hanford, California – “Spanky Mathews Memorial”