AMSOIL Sprints
Friday, 5 July 2013


Chad Boespflug and car owner Paul Hazen after winning Thursday night at Lincoln Park Speedway. Chad Boespflug and car owner Paul Hazen after winning Thursday night at Lincoln Park Speedway. USAC Photo


Putnamville, Indiana…….Chad Boespflug from Hanford, California traced the tall Lincoln Park Speedway cushion for thirty flawless laps to win his first AMSOIL National Sprint Car feature. The win came aboard the famous Paul Hazen – Physical Medicine Consultants #57 DRC/Kercher.

“This is something you want to put on your list when you race sprint cars, and to do it for Paul is even more special. To be among the guys who have won USAC races for him is an awesome feeling. I moved out here from California to race, and this is what I want to do. This is just a dream – better than I could imagine,” Boespflug said.

Boespflug led every lap from the pole, but battles raged throughout the entire race behind him. Jon Stanbrough finally cleared Tracy Hines for second before Tyler Courtney tracked him down on the extreme inside line. Courtney, a Rookie of the Year contender this season, disposed of Stanbrough and carved into Boespflug’s lead before falling short.

Still, it matched the best finish in Courtney’s young USAC career aboard the All Pro Auto Reconditioning – Stoops Freightliner #23c Maxim/Foxco, coming from 7th to score the runner-up finish.

“We were able to get a decent lap in tonight, and starting up a little closer to the front definitely was big for us. We got going on the bottom and just picked and picked our way through there. I kept thinking to myself to not overdrive it. We were gaining on him at the end and I hit a tire that kinda messed up my line through there from then on. But running second in a USAC show going into Sprintweek is huge for me,” Courtney said.

Stanbrough, no stranger to LPS victory lane, including aboard the Hazen 57, tried every line imaginable to track down the runaway leader. The Avon, Indiana driver rounded out the podium in the Marion Underground Construction – Shane Wade Enterprises #66 DRC/Dynotech.

“I’m happy for Paul – we won a ton of races down here doing the same thing Chad was doing tonight. I’m happy for him to win his first, also. I tried a little bit of everywhere, but the longer we ran, the more he seemed to slip away. We were close tonight, but just not close enough. We’re right there, so sooner or later we’ll get one,”

Hunter Schuerenberg charged from 12th to take fourth in the – Fatheadz Eyewear #35 Mach-1/Rider, while Kevin Thomas, Jr. rounded out the top-five after starting ninth in the Mike Dutcher/RW/Tri-Star Motorsports – Black Jack Oil Company #17RW Maxim/Fisher.

Regular CRA competitor Richard Vander Weerd started the evening strong by posting the B&W Auto Mart “Fast Time Award” in the Vander Weerd Construction – Battery Worx #10 Maxim/Shark before finishing 13th in the Feature.

AMSOIL USAC SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS:  July 4, 2013 – Putnamville, Indiana – Lincoln Park Speedway

QUALIFYING: 1. Richard Vander Weerd, 10, Vander Weerd-12.521; 2. Jon Stanbrough, 66, Tate/Wade-12.733; 3. Chase Stockon, 32, 32 TBI Racing-12.740; 4. Jace Vander Weerd, 88, Vander Weerd-12.742; 5. Tracy Hines, 4, Hines-12.876; 6. Chad Boespflug, 57, Hazen-12.905; 7. Tyler Courtney, 23c, Courtney-12.907; 8. A.J. Hopkins, 14H, Hopkins-12.913; 9. Max McGhee, 17, McGhee-12.958; 10. Kevin Thomas Jr., 17RW, Dutcher/RW/Tri-Star-12.967; 11. Dave Darland, 71p, Phillips-13.001; 12. C.J. Leary, 30, Leary-13.003; 13. Bobby East, 5E, East-13.056; 14. Hunter Schuerenberg, 35, Byram-13.060; 15. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-13.086; 16. Brent Beauchamp, 34, Olson-13.112; 17. Robert Ballou, 21x, Pollock-13.122; 18. Chris Gurley, 12G, Team Automotive-13.148; 19. Seth Parker, 38p, Parker-13.151; 20. Casey Shuman, 21k, Krockenberger-13.177; 21. Daron Clayton, 92, Clayton-13.220; 22. Chase Briscoe, 5B, Briscoe-13.235; 23. Bryan Clauson, 20, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-13.238; 24. Jeff Bland Jr., 38, Pottorff-13.239; 25. Jarett Andretti, 18, Andretti-13.263; 26. Christopher Bell, 56, Fox-13.267; 27. Matt Westfall, 54, Best Performance-13.298; 28. Dakota Jackson, 3, Jackson-13.317; 29. Ethan Barrow, 15, Barrow-13.336; 30. Shane Cottle, 2, Epperson-13.339; 31. Chris Windom, 11, Walker-13.424; 32. Keaton Dobbs, 15k, Dobbs-13.430; 33. Nick Drake, 55, Cline-13.543; 34. Daylon Chambers, 4c, Chambers-13.587; 35. Brian Hayden, 77, Wingo-13.592; 36. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-13.632; 37. Carson Short, 21, Short-13.649; 38. Kurt Gross, 1x, Gross-13.654; 39. Kent Christian, 1c, Christian-13.800; 40. Dalten Gabbard, 77x, Walker-14.049; 41. Mike Terry Jr., 85, Terry-14.588.

FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Clayton, 2. Hines, 3. East, 4. R.Vander Weerd, 5. Andretti, 6. Barrow, 7. McGhee, 8. Drake, 9. C.Short, 10. Terry, 11. Ballou. 2:11.65

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Briscoe, 2. Schuerenberg, 3. Stanbrough, 4. Boespflug, 5. Cottle, 6. Gurley, 7. Gross, 8. Chambers, 9. Thomas, 10. Bell. 2:15.84

THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Clauson, 2. Bacon, 3. Darland, 4. Stockon, 5. Windom, 6. Christian, 7. Westfall, 8. Parker, 9. Courtney, 10. Hayden. NT

FOURTH HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Bland, 2. Shuman, 3. J.Vander Weerd, 4. Beauchamp, 5. Hopkins, 6. Jackson, 7. Jarrett, 8. Dobbs, 9. Gabbard, 10. Leary. NT

SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Courtney, 2. Ballou, 3. Thomas, 4. Jackson, 5. Hopkins, 6. Windom, 7. Leary, 8. Bell, 9. Westfall, 10. Cottle, 11. Gurley, 12. Parker, 13. Drake, 14. Gabbard, 15. McGhee, 16. Chambers, 17. Terry, 18. Gross, 19. Andretti, 20. Christian, 21. Hayden,
22. Barrow, 23. Dobbs, 24. Jarrett, 25. C.Short. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Chad Boespflug, 2. Tyler Courtney, 3. Jon Stanbrough, 4. Hunter Schuerenberg, 5. Kevin Thomas, 6. Robert Ballou, 7. Dave Darland, 8. Tracy Hines, 9. Bryan Clauson, 10. Brent Beauchamp, 11. Chase Stockon, 12. Chris Windom, 13. Richard Vander Weerd, 14. Bobby East, 15. Jace Vander Weerd, 16. Casey Shuman. 17. Dakota Jackson, 18. Brady Bacon, 19. Chase Briscoe, 20. A.J. Hopkins, 21. Jeff Bland Jr., 22. Daron Clayton. NT
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-30 Boespflug.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Darland-804, 2-Clauson-769, 3-Thomas-754, 4-Stockon-744, 5-Bacon-739, 6-Schuerenberg-728, 7-Hines-707, 8-Ballou-681, 9-Courtney-488, 10-Cottle-465.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: July 12 – Gas City, Indiana – Gas City I-69 Speedway – “Indiana Sprintweek”