AMSOIL Sprints
Saturday, 13 July 2013


Jon Stanbrough is joined by Shane Cottle & Hunter Schuerenberg after winning at Gas City. Jon Stanbrough is joined by Shane Cottle & Hunter Schuerenberg after winning at Gas City. USAC Photo


Gas City, Indiana…….Jon Stanbrough of Avon, Indiana is no stranger to winning in the AMSOIL National Sprint Car competition, and on Friday night he kicked off “Indiana Sprintweek” in style by capturing his 30th career win with the series, this one coming at Gas City I-69 Speedway. The win was the first for his Amati Racing team.

The most recent winner with the series, Chad Boespflug, led the field to green and paced a hammer-down race through the first half. Stanbrough, who started alongside, actually slid back to the third spot as Bryan Clauson became the biggest threat to Boespflug’s lead. As the first half wound on, Shane Cottle joined the lead pack and made it a four-car tussle.

Stanbrough jumped to the top on lap 12 and soon had a line carved in around the outside, circling Boespflug for the lead on lap 16. Just a lap later, the only caution of the race flew when Casey Shuman slowed to a stop.

After the restart, Stanbrough raced to a comfortable advantage, only giving up some ground late in the going as he encountered slower cars. At the finish, it was a .860-second win for Stanbrough in the Marion Underground Construction – Shane Wade Enterprises #66 DRC/Dynotech.

“(Crew chief) Daryl (Tate) and I never lost communication with each other, and his hard work and Shane Wade giving us the chance to do this, and those guys believing in me put this all together. We’ve just kept at it when we’ve been so close to winning races lately. Jeff Peterson did a great job on bleeders tonight, and we really made gains there. I never met Shane Wade before this came together, and hopefully now that we got him one, we can get some more this week,” Stanbrough said.

Cottle held on for second, as he inched away from everyone else and actually reeled in the leader on the bottom in the Epperson Painting – Leer Racing #2 Spike/Claxton.

“I had Jon passed at one point, but I just had to get a way by Chad (Boespflug). He got us back and I just blew the corner a few too many times before I settled down. I think we were as fast as he was once I got going, but hopefully this is the turn we needed after all the bad luck we’ve had lately to get one in the win column soon,” Cottle said.

Hunter Schuerenberg made a huge surge on the cushion, as he picked up the “Hard Charger” award from ProSource and made himself an early favorite for the week-long B&W Auto Mart “Josh Burton Hard Charger Award” after climbing from 4th to finish third in the – Fatheadz Eyewear #35 Mach-1/Rider

“We knew the track would be heavy, so we took a chance and tried to keep it free to be good early. It worked out pretty well for us. We’ve gotten back to stuff we used to do, and I’m feeling really comfortable. We have done so little to the car, people probably wouldn’t believe us. I’ve got a lot of confidence in it right now to just go out and drive the crap out of it,” Schuerenberg said.

Clauson held on for fourth despite a flattening right-rear tire on the Tony Stewart/Curb-Agajanian Racing – Chevy Performance, while Dave Darland rounded out the top-five in the Phillips Motorsports – Racer’s Advantage #71P DRC/Foxco. Darland also picked up the night’s ProSource “Fast Time Award.”

AMSOIL USAC SPRINT CAR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP RACE RESULTS:  July 12, 2013 – Gas City, Indiana – Gas City I-69 Speedway – “Indiana Sprintweek”

QUALIFYING: 1. Dave Darland, 71p, Phillips-12.295; 2. Shane Cottle, 2, Epperson-12.466; 3. Chase Stockon, 32, 32/TBI-12.609; 4. Bryan Clauson, 20, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-12.619; 5. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-12.620; 6. C.J. Leary, 30, Leary-12.625; 7. Jon Stanbrough, 66, Wade-12.712; 8. Mark Smith, 1m, Smith-12.740; 9. Justin Grant, 27a, Elson-12.838; 10. Chad Boespflug, 57, Hazen-12.917; 11. Dakota Jackson, 3, Jackson-12.973; 12. Christopher Bell, 67, Kunz/Curb-Agajanian-12.997;13. Richard Vander Weerd, 10, Vander Weerd-13.145; 14. Nick Drake, 55, Cline-13.288; 15. Chris Windom, 11, Walker-13.354; 16. Jace Vander Weerd, 88, Vander Weerd-13.385; 17. Hunter Schuerenberg, 35, Byram-13.414; 18. Wes McIntyre, 83, McIntyre-13.462; 19. Brady Short, 11p, Pottorff-13.472; 20. Kyle Robbins, 17R, Robbins-13.487; 21. Ryan Pace, 44, Pace-13.493; 22. Tracy Hines, 4, Hines-13.530; 23. Tyler Courtney, 23c, Courtney/Anderson-13.558; 24. Gary Taylor, 40, Hery-13.585; 25. Kevin Thomas Jr., 17RW, Dutcher/RW/Tri-Star-13.601; 26. Todd Keen, 18k, Keen-13.629; 27. Chad Shields, 81, Shields-13.644; 28. Casey Shuman, 21k, Krockenberger-13.686; 29. Kyle Cummins, 3c, Cummins-13.729; 30. Brett Burdette, 17B, Burdette-13.767; 31. Bradley Sterrett, 90, Leer-13.782; 32. Kevin Studley, 57x, Studley-13.825; 33. Chris Gurley, 12G, Team Automotive-13.831; 34. Max McGhee, 17, McGhee-13.853; 35. Ryan Bernal, 73, Ford-13.875; 36. Nathan Moore, 48, Moore-13.899; 37. Tyler Hewitt, 97x, Hewitt-13.901; 38. A.J. Hopkins, 14H, Hopkins-13.914; 39. Jerry Coons Jr., 10E, Edison-14.008; 40. Scotty Weir, 18, Keen-14.008; 41. Ted Hines, 12, Hines-14.073; 42. Kent Schmidt, 5k, Schmidt-14.114; 43. Todd Gnat, 51G, Gnat-14.155; 44. Conner Donelson, 3W, Sweat-14.236; 45. Brian Hayden, 77, Wingo-14.256; 46. Robert Ballou, 21x, Pollock-14.268; 47. Travis Welpott, 18x, Welpott-14.326; 48. Logan Jarrett, 29, Jarrett-14.420; 49. Mike Terry Jr., 85, Terry-14.697; 50. Dalten Gabbard, 77x, Arizona Heat-14.754; 51. Caleb Armstrong, 11J, Yeley-14.809; 52. Daylan Chambers, 4c, Chambers-14.900; 53. Dusty Shriver, 73x, Shriver-15.477.
QUALIFYING RACE #1: (8 laps) 1. Gurley, 2. Bernal, 3. Coons, 4. Hewitt, 5. Terry, 6. Ted Hines, 7. Hayden, 8. Shriver, 9. Gnat, 10. Welpott, 11. Armstrong. NT

QUALIFYING RACE #2: (8 laps) 1. McGhee, 2. Hopkins, 3. Weir, 4. Ballou, 5. Jarrett, 6. Gabbard, 7. Donelson, 8. Schmidt, 9. Chambers, 10. Moore. NT

FIRST HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Schuerenberg, 2. Darland, 3. Weir, 4. R.Vander Weerd, 5. Pace, 6. Thomas, 7. Bacon, 8. Grant, 9. Cummins, 10. McGhee. NT

SECOND HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Tracy Hines, 2. Cottle, 3. McIntyre, 4. Boespflug, 5. Drake, 6. Keen, 7. Leary, 8. Hopkins, 9. Burdette, 10. Ballou. 2:04.46

THIRD HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Stanbrough, 2. Short, 3. Courtney, 4. Stockon, 5. Coons, 6. Windom, 7. Gurley, 8. Jackson, 9. Sterrett, 10. Shields. 2:10.44

FOURTH HEAT: (10 laps) 1. Clauson, 2. Bell, 3. Taylor, 4. Shuman, 5. Bernal, 6. J.Vander Weerd, 7. Hewitt, 8. Smith, 9. Studley, 10. Robbins. NT

SEMI: (12 laps) 1. Bacon, 2. Grant, 3. Leary, 4. Smith, 5. Thomas, 6. Windom, 7. Cummins, 8. Pace, 9. Coons, 10. Hopkins, 11. Gurley, 12. Hewitt, 13. B+allou, 14. Burdette, 15. Sterrett, 16. Drake, 17. Jackson, 18. Bernal, 19. Robbins, 20. J.Vander Weerd, 21. Keen, 22. Shields. NT

FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Jon Stanbrough, 2. Shane Cottle, 3. Hunter Schuerenberg, 4. Bryan Clauson, 5. Dave Darland, 6. Chad Boespflug, 7. Christopher Bell, 8. Chase Stockon, 9. Kevin Thomas Jr., 10. Chris Windom, 11. Tyler Courtney, 12. Brady Bacon, 13. Richard Vander Weerd, 14. Justin Grant, 15. Brady Short, 16. Jerry Coons Jr., 17. Gary Taylor, 18. Ryan Bernal, 19. Wes McIntyre, 20. Tracy Hines, 21. C.J. Leary, 22. Mark Smith, 23. Casey Shuman, 24. Scotty Weir. NT
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-15 Boespflug, Laps 16-30 Stanbrough.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Darland-865, 2-Clauson-831, 3-Stockon-792, 4-Thomas-791, 5-Schuerenberg-790, 6-Bacon -774, 7-Hines-728, 8-Ballou-682, 9-Cottle-534, 10-Courtney-525.

NEW INDIANA SPRINT WEEK POINTS: 1-Cottle-69; 2-Stanbrough-68; 3-Schuerenberg-62; 4-Clauson-62; 5-Darland-61; 6-Boespflug-50; 7-Bell-49; 8-Stockon-48; 9-Thomas-37; 10-Courtney-37.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: July 13 – Kokomo, Indiana – Kokomo Speedway – “Indiana Sprintweek”