AMSOIL Sprints
Tuesday, 7 November 2017




Perris, California………Drivers in this weekend’s 22nd Annual Budweiser Oval Nationals presented by All Coast Construction at Perris Auto Speedway will have 1,000 extra reasons to smile. The annual “Tony Jones Hard Charger Award” has doubled in size from $1,000.00 to $2,000.00 and it will be distributed via a brand-new format.

In seasons gone by, the award, named after the 2000 Oval Nationals winner and 2007 USAC/CRA Champion, went to the driver who passed the most cars in the Saturday finale. That driver also got all the money. This year, Jones wanted to spread the money out a bit and Mike Grosswendt, owner of All Coast Construction, gave him more money to reward the drivers with.

“Tony wanted to change things up and “Big Mike” (Grosswendt) liked the idea he came up with,” Perris Auto Speedway promoter Don Kazarian said. “In the past, the award paid $1,000.00 to the driver who earned it. This year, “Big Mike” has doubled the amount of the award and it is being spread over all three-night as per Tony’s idea. The driver who passes the most cars in each A main event on Thursday, Friday and Saturday will earn an extra $500.00. Then after Saturday’s main event, Freddie Sachs will total up who passed the most cars total in all three main events combined and that driver will earn an extra $500.00 bonus. The winning driver will also receive a Tony Jones Award framed wall photo designed by National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Mike Arthur. If there is a tie, the bonus money will be split up evenly between the deadlocked drivers.”

The Oval Nationals, which pays $25,000.00 to win on the final night, is three nights of full points-paying races for the USAC/CRA and USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series. Each night will include qualifying, heat races and main events. Advance tickets for one of the most prestigious non-wing sprint car races in the nation are available at the following link: or by calling 1-800-595-4849.

As well as the USAC portion of the show, Saturday’s program also includes a special invitational debut of the Yamaha R1 DT race car. Drivers from several different racing disciplines, including Cory Kruseman, Donnie Moran, Natalie Decker, Sammy Halbert, Kenshiro Gushi and Dustin Nelson, will all be taking part in the inaugural race.

In addition to the three nights of racing, there will be a practice session for Oval Nationals entered cars on Wednesday, November 8th. The practice will be free for fans in the grandstands and there will be $2.00 pizza, soda and beer. The practice will commence at 5:00 P.M.



1996 Jimmy Sills

1997 Rip Williams

1998 Rodney Argo

1999 Rickie Gaunt

2000 Tony Jones

2001 Bud Kaeding

2002 Bud Kaeding

2003 Cory Kruseman

2004 Cory Kruseman

2005 Dave Darland

2006 Dave Darland

2007 Bud Kaeding

2008 Jesse Hockett

2009 Damion Gardner

2010 Chris Windom

2011 Damion Gardner

2012 Mike Spencer

2013 Dave Darland

2014 Robert Ballou

2015 Bryan Clauson

2016 Damion Gardner

Perris Auto Speedway wants to thank its corporate partners for the 2017 season. All Coast Construction, Amsoil, Ayers Hotel and Spa, Brass and Bass Firearms & Fishing Supplies, Budweiser, Bud’s Tire Pro, Center Point Church, Champion Towing, City of Perris, Country Values Magazine, Daytona Boat & RV Storage, Ed Moore Bullet Proof Driveshaft, Edelbrock, Flowdynamics, Full Throttle Scissor Lift Rental, Green Sheet, Harley’s Custom Cycles, HD Industries, Hoosier Tires, Indiana Truck Salvage, K&N Engineering, Living Water’s Hospice, Luke’s Transmission, Moreno Valley Magazine of Values, Paul Oil Company, Pepsi-Cola, Pick-A-Part Auto Salvage, Pole Position, Precision Engine of Murrieta,, Scott Sales, Shaver Specialties, Square H, Sunstate Equipment, Swedish Speed, Original Tommy’s Burgers, Trench Shoring, Valley News, Vista Paint and Weedmaps.

To keep up with all the latest Perris Auto Speedway news, photos, gossip and receive special offers, please use the following links:


Twitter: @PerrisAutoSpdwy



Video and DVD productions of open wheel racing events at Perris Auto Speedway are available from Loudpedal Productions. For more information on these productions you can contact them by calling (805) 844-3854, E-mailing mailto: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or you can visit the website LoudPedal Productions

Perris Auto Speedway is located on the Lake Perris Fairgrounds (home of October’s Southern California Fair), approximately one-hour east of Los Angeles and one-hour North of San Diego. To get to the track, take the 215 freeway, exit on the Ramona Expressway and go three miles east to the fairgrounds.

Practice night on Wednesday, Nov. 8 from 5-9pm begins the festivities for the 22nd “Oval Nationals” at Perris.  Complete programs with 30-lap features hit the track on Thursday and Friday, Nov. 9-10.  Pits open at noon both nights with front gates opening at 4pm.  The drivers meeting takes place at 4:30 with cars set for on-track activities at 5pm.  For Saturday’s $25,000-to-win main event, pits open at noon, front gates at 3pm, an autograph session at 3pm, drivers meeting at 4:15pm with cars set to hit the track at 4:45pm.


All three nights of racing at the “Oval Nationals” will be streamed LIVE on  If you miss it or want to re-watch it again, http://www.Loudpedal.TV/ will have flag-to-flag on-demand coverage of each night posted a day following the event.