Sprint Car
Thursday, 31 January 2013


Peoria, AZ........USAC National Drivers Champion Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Ind. wheeled his Mike Martin Ultimate Offroad/Naquin Precision Earth Moving Maxim/Shaver to victory in Wednesday night's opening round of the 2013 "Winter Challenge" at Canyon Speedway Park. The race featuring USAC West Coast and Southwest Sprint Cars saw Clauson pass Bruce St. James on lap 11 and lead the rest of the way to beat Jeremy Sherman, St. James, Richard Vander Weerd and Martin. The series continues Friday night at CSP before closing with a Saturday "doubleheader" at the 3/8-mile dirt oval.
USAC SOUTHWEST/WEST COAST “Special Event” SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: January 30, 2013 – Peoria, AZ – Canyon Speedway Park – “2013 Winter Challenge”
FIRST HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Bryan Clauson (#16B Martin), 2. Andy Reinbold (#19 Underwood), 3. Bruce St. James (#7K St. James), 4. Stevie Sussex (#1AZ Sussex), 5. Michael Curtis (#11C Turner/Wheeler), 6. Charles Davis Jr. (#50 Massey), 7. Kevin Thomas Jr. (#21 Ellis). NT
SECOND HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Jeremy Sherman (#77M Michaels), 2. Josh Pelkey (#4JR Reagles), 3. Rick Ziehl (#20Z Ziehl), 4. Jace Vander Weerd (#88 Vander Weerd), 5. Colby Copeland (#74 Williams), 6. Jon Stanbrough (#20 Deskins), 7. Richard Vander Weerd (#10 Vander Weerd). NT
THIRD HEAT: (8 laps) 1. Mike Martin (#16 Martin), 2. Bud Kaeding (#29 Bowman), 3. Tom Ogle (#48 Ogle), 4. Robert Ballou (#77 Hockett), 5. Lonnie Oliver (#11T Oliver), 6. Tom Lee (#53 Lee), 7. Brian Hosford (#32B Weber). NT
FEATURE: (30 laps) 1. Bryan Clauson, 2. Jeremy Sherman, 3. Bruce St. James, 4. Richard Vander Weerd, 5. Mike Martin, 6. Charles Davis Jr., 7. Colby Copeland, 8. Jon Stanbrough, 9. Andy Reinbold, 10. Bud Kaeding, 11. Tom Ogle, 12. Lonnie Oliver, 13. Tom Lee, 14. Rick Ziehl, 15. Stevie Sussex, 16. Robert Ballou, 17. Josh Pelkey, 18. Jace Vander Weerd, 19. Michael Curtis, 20. Mike Morin (#28 Morin), 21. Kevin Thomas Jr., 22. Brian Hosford. NT
**Hosford flipped during the third heat. J. Vander Weerd, Curtis, and Ballou flipped during the feature.
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-10 St. James, Laps 11-30 Clauson.
NEXT SOUTHWEST/WEST COAST “Special Event” SPRINT RACE: February 1 – Peoria, AZ – Canyon Speedway Park - “2013 Winter Challenge”